Rivertop Redux

My first four images are selections from the trail cam on my “back forty”:

red fox
a couple of big night stalkers…
in the Halloween spirit…

And here two poetic excerpts, appropriate for this season of quick transitions, from my book Earthstars, Chanterelles, Destroying Angels:

the golden season slips away

oh, to hold it for a while

to see this home

in context of eternity–

beyond the beautiful leaf,

the faint song of a bird–

form beyond forms–

“ten thousand things”

slipping away

beyond…//

the hills seem haunted

by the ages–

bare trees climb the sky

a stream bends toward the sea–

leaves float, faces

from the grave disperse–

an aster blooms

near a fossil rock–

an autumn eye

looks for summer past…

usnea, a lichen…
I may have had a beer or two for this one…
upper Pine Creek watershed
witch hazel bloom
chinook salmon, 10/25
not sure who won…
north country trib

Finally, to complement what I take to be the feeling of this time and season, I follow with something to be shared if you’re into music that is bluesy and melodic– Snowy White’s clear-toned “The Time Has Come,” a beauty from the heart and soul, like so much of his music, inspired by the great British blues guitarist, Peter Green:

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rivertop Redux

  1. Anonymous says:

    Making me homesick.

  2. The beer-fueled photo is a winner. As are the other photos. As are your words.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful scenes and prose my friend. Enjoy this season!

  4. plaidcamper says:

    Your autumn eye is sharp, and goodness, your trail cam is providing plenty to see – some ghostly images for sure! You’re getting some fishing wins (large and small) this fall season, and that’s worth celebrating with a pint or two. Cheers, Walt!

  5. Anonymous says:

    “ The time has come” is pretty good. Thanks for turning me onto Snowy White.

    • Oh, you’re welcome! White is a fine guitarist who’s been around for quite a while, most notably since his 80’s hit “Bird of Paradise” & later for playing with Pink Floyd, but his solitary work stands alone.

  6. Brent says:

    I missed this post because of weekend travel, but it was a nice thing to read from the warm couch back at the house. Fall came (and went) quickly these last few weeks. I’m very impressed by that Chinook!

    • It has been a rapidly changing season but so warm that the salmon run locally was considerably later due to water temps being high. I’ve always released these fish but since Dave helped with the net & was looking for some freezer stock, he took it back to Bootleg Hollow.

  7. loydtruss says:

    Walt
    Great post for the avid outdoorsman: congrats on landing the salmon—thanks for sharing

  8. Bob Stanton says:

    I recently bought myself a trail cam to “see what’s out there,” got a few interesting thing but I’m hoping to get something real spectacular at some point. Thinking of a deep woods placement.

    • It’s rewarding to use one if you have a good placement. I enjoy checking mine each morning. Have a doe & a 10-point buck from last night. My neighbor even has a fine night image of a fisher. Good luck with yours!

  9. Jet Eliot says:

    I really enjoyed this salute to the changing season, Walt, and all the beauty that comes with it. Big whopper of a fish, great deer in the night, fun to see the Halloween witch hazel, and of course your rich and poetic words. Thank you.

  10. Thanks Jet. Always like hearing from you & your own take on our natural world!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.