Serenity

In a world of war and conflict, social and political malaise, it sure is nice to step from the beaten path into autumn’s colorful serenity. With recent trips into the Adirondacks (heavy rain from a passing tropical storm) and to wild brook trout country near my home and in northern Pennsylvania, tranquility and quietude were readily experienced. Here are some of my favorite photos taken in recent days. As always, thank you for your visit to this site. Happy trails & a wish for peace.

From my poem “Upland Gallery” in Earthstars, Chanterelles, Destroying Angels:

… the glory road of autumn

valley to sky

where hills recall the sea

and life beneath the waves–

the glory road of autumn

mountains rising, falling

ghostly fishes leaping–

now the robins migrate,

sing through oak and aspen–

the glory road of autumn….

new rod w/ 100-year-old Hardy reel
nodding ladies-tresses (a wild orchid)
a.m. view toward Greenwood from behind our home
Indian Lake, Adirondack campground in the rain…
at camp
when the rain let up…
serenity… back home

Now, if you want to spice up that serenity with an excellent British R&R video from Family (a personal favorite band, the unofficial house band of this blog), check out the following– 50 years old now & still kicking ass. I devoured the bands 7 studio albums issued from about 1968 to 1973 and continue to cherish the art. [Thanks to Steve Maginnis, at his blog A Family Affair, for selecting this as his “Music Video of the Week.”]

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Serenity

  1. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful! You make cold rain look friendly
    Wendy

  2. Spending time among lakes and ponds and forests is a good way to keep one’s blood pressure at a healthy level.

  3. plaidcamper says:

    Wonderful words and images, Walt! Passed through the Adirondacks the other day, and will be making plans for a swift return – a lovely region, at least what we saw heading up to the border, north of Saratoga Springs.
    Stay well, stay sane, and I hope fall offers you some more camping/fishing! Unless you’re tougher than us, ice or snow on the tent means find a cabin…

  4. Adam, cabins work best for me, too, at many times of year. Glad you made it to the ‘Dacks! Let me know if you’re in the area again; we could shake our paws together in the real world!

  5. Brent says:

    Those Adirondack autumn colors are stunning even in the gray light. I don’t think we’re looking good for bright colors here, and it looks more muted behind the old Owl Farm too.

    • Thanks. The foliage colors near home have been relatively dull & muted this year compared to the typical transition period but the weather’s been enjoyable for the most part. The goldenrod (?) really kicked my allergies in the head this year.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Walt
    Stunning images of my favorite time of the year; I wish we could keep Fall and Spring all year! Thanks for sharing

  7. Thom Hickey says:

    Always a refreshment of the spurit to visit here.

    Regards Thom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.