Fall Brooks

The turning, colorful season was an open invitation to spend a couple of days among the mountain streams of northern Pennsylvania. The male brook trout are in spawning hue, as beautiful as any wild fish can be, and readily accepted my rambling catch-and-release activity in the big creek’s headwaters. There my favorite streams felt wild, secluded, but accessible thanks to hiking trails and old abandoned railbeds.

I quickly lost count of all the hungry brookies that I saw, and one memorable catch was a wild brown that initially rose without success to my dry fly. Resting the fish, now hiding in some shadowy niche, I switched my offering to a bead-head nymph, and that did the trick. Throughout the pleasant hours fishing carefully in my solitude, the 6’8″ glass rod (with a shortened leader and a 3X tippet) worked its magic for a sense of soul rejuvenation.

Here are the first two stanzas of my poem called “Fishing” that appeared in THE WILD TROUT, a chapbook published in 1989 and 1991;

The current spreads a coolness over thighs.

With nerves taut, abandoned to the moment,

I react to contrary motions– striking

to the shadow of a passing kingfisher,

to a leaf-flash, water’s sudden tugging…

Learning to perceive the hidden,

I cast for clues among the resting fish,

over stonefly nymph dislodged, perhaps

to relive that first catch long ago….

So, thanks to all the squaretails, all the wild fish, all the beauty of an autumn day that draws us toward appreciation of the finer things in outdoor life, the music of the spheres, the pull of the line, the summoned in a timeless flow.

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Fall Brooks

  1. Brent says:

    I assume, based on context clues in the writing and photos, this gorgeous outing was somewhere in the Lyman/West Branch area. Do you think that little snake is a young milk snake?

  2. You’re close, Brent. Upstream, closer to home. As for the little snake seen in the woods, it’s probably a garter.

  3. Beautiful essay. You bond with Nature in a big way.

  4. plaidcamper says:

    Who wouldn’t be happy to accept such an invitation?! Thanks, Walt, for taking us along, seeing you cast for clues and sharing ways to embrace the season. That last image (taken thigh deep?) is some photo!

  5. tiostib says:

    A beautiful reminder of crisp Fall days picking my way upstream through a sea of brilliant colors, murmuringwater and dazzling trout. Thanks.

  6. Glad you’ve been there, Tio, and continue to appreciate the dazzling array.

  7. tiostib says:

    I came across this short video about rivers that run through towns, thought you might enjoy it-

  8. Anonymous says:

    Walt
    I can’t think of a better way to welcome in fall than landing some colorful brook trout and a bonus brown trout!! Thanks for sharing

  9. Jet Eliot says:

    This was a wonderful and heartfelt celebration of autumn days, Walt, and much appreciated. Your poetry, soulful expression, photos and love…thank you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.