Autumn Poetry in Motion

It’s a busy time on the rivertops as autumn starts to spice the water, land and air with coolness, longer nights and general decay. Birds become more active with migration urges, wildflowers thicken the high grassy fields and roadways, trout begin to shed their summertime lethargy and start to feed with more enthusiasm. I’ve attended numerous poetry events lately and hit the brook trout streams more readily than in summer. I’ve retired (or accidently broken) a few old fly rods but recently acquired an unusual little fiberglass wand that’s rapidly become a favorite. And my neighbor and fishing partner, Dave, loaned me a trail cam to install on my back acreage. A first viewing of the wildlife action at the site proved to be of interest.

hmm what is that thing… edible?
red fox says I’M GONE
fishin’ pal Bob S. hauls us up a little feeder stream at Hammersley

A poem that I included in my non-fiction book called Learning the Terrain is called “Cardinal Flower,” the subject of which is going off the bloom now (photo wildtoledo.org) but is seldom far from my September thoughts:

Native lobelia

scarlet robed

flares

above the muskrat’s wake.

Trout rise for a small emergent mayfly–

the heron’s eye

notes a wavering

white-striped fin.

Blossoms stir

along the stalks–

small red birds

lift their wings

A shadow falls

across the riffles.

poetic wild asters

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Autumn Poetry in Motion

  1. Brent says:

    Thanks for these reflections on a time of year that evokes a wide range of senses and emotions. I should get my hands on some of that red lobelia to have more early autumn color in the garden, although that Joe Pye weed we have (which we now suspect is ironweed, instead) is now showing a brilliant purple.

    The trail cam looks like a fun toy. We went on a birding/biking day trip to Ohio on Saturday and were rewarded with a variety of ducks, a great blue *and* a green heron, and a mature bald eagle, among others.

    • Early autumn certainly does evoke a wide range of sensory & emotional response in many of us. I’m glad you got a pleasant dose of it in Ohio recently. In most cases, one needn’t go far to enjoy the seasonal possibilities, noting that you could find it right there in the back yard with all its floral array. One drawback, in my case, is the allergy problem from the pollen… yech.

  2. Hi. Good luck with your fishing. Here’s an article you might enjoy. It’s about batons made for music conductors. The conductors like certain batons more than others, similar to fishermen and their preferences for certain fishing rods.
    https://www.inquirer.com/arts/inq2/mark-horowitz-leonard-bernstein-baton-ambler-bradley-cooper-20230919.html

  3. sporkworld says:

    This is a gem. Glad I found this, Walt.

  4. plaidcamper says:

    Your words and images show autumnal decay needn’t only be the melancholic experience I often find it to be. Our current eastern fall experience is also reminding me how wonderful this season can be.
    The trail camera is certainly capturing some great images – look what wandered through Hammersley…
    Thanks, Walt!

    • Yeah, my “trail camera” caught another image of a “two-legged” friend! There’s always something to look forward to in this season. Thanks, and I hope you continue to enjoy this seasonal transition!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Cardinal flower is probably my favorite late summer bloom. Just pointed one out the other day, passed its prime, to my girlfriend. What a fun little jaunt we had in the wilds of North Central Pennsylvania. We need to do it again, and soon.

  6. Jet Eliot says:

    It was a joy to soak up your words, Walt, celebrating autumn and nature and all that surrounds you. I especially liked the opening sentence, and the warm and gentle poem. Wonderful photos too, my friend. Cheers and smiles to you….

  7. Gorgeous photos, thank you for sharing them! ❤️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.