Between Every Two Pine Trees…

“Between every two pine trees is a doorway to a new world,” said John Muir, and so begins my newly published 75-page book of poetry entitled Between Two Pines, just issued by FootHills Publishing. I’m proud of this collection, a finely handbound volume that contains what I like to think of as “my best batch yet.” And if you’ve enjoyed my writing over the 13 years of Rivertop Rambles, or if you’ve encountered my poetry in the past, you might want to check out a copy ($16 postpaid), available from FootHills in Kanona, NY or from me personally at franklinL3@yahoo.com.

According to a back cover blurb, Between Two Pines “…contains a wide variety of styles and artful expressions unified by a fresh view of the commonplace and its potential for love, magnificence, and sorrow.” Yeah, it’s a tasty batch of old work and new, if I’m allowed to blow my horn immodestly for a moment or two. A short excerpt “fresh as foam, as old as the rock” (as Emerson once described poetic ideals):

For the Girl Singing Neil Young on Wisconsin Avenue

I heard you singing as I walked out onto the street.

Years later, you are still that girl,

all that I remember from one rushing day,

still swaying like a tree by a distant river.

Otherwise, it’s been a quick three months since the commencement of the winter season and the appearance (gasp!) of my previous post here on RR. No excuses offered, other than to say that I’ve been busy with my writing, reading and other projects while doing very little fly-fishing– an activity that’s about to shift gears here at the start of spring. Before I mention anything about future plans, here’s a few of my favorite photos taken from the new year:

solstice fire, Dec. 2023
winter blaze felt good
stone wall, King Hill summit
fungi, winter woods…
Allegheny River
a nice winter trout
I was saddened by the ermine’s accidental demise…
but am brightened by spring’s arrival.

Thank you, folks, and please look forward to a quickening of the posts here at Rivertop Rambles. I hope to be fishing and hiking more frequently now, with the steelhead season ripening, the small streams with wild trout beckoning, the hills coming alive with birds and wildflowers, a family trip to the Mayan jungles of Belize in April, and plenty more. Sing cheers!

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Between Every Two Pine Trees…

  1. sporkworld says:

    Dear Walt– Congratulations on your new book — which I would like to order from you. Just let me know where to send the check. Would love to have a signed copy.

    Looking forward to your book launch.

    Happy fly fishing and birding, Martha

  2. Deedee Burnside says:

    Nice photography!! You will love Belize!! I have been there many times.

    >

  3. Mark S says:

    Congratulations on the new book. What an accomplishment!

  4. tiostib says:

    Congrats and thanks for putting your love of Nature and life out in the world.

  5. Thanks, Tio. Nature provides, and we who partake with gratitude respond.

  6. Brent says:

    Welcome back here! I’m looking forward to reading these newly released poems, and I’ll have to grab a copy when I see you next (at the latest, for said family trip to the tropics).

  7. plaidcamper says:

    A new batch from the river top rambler? Now there’s a welcome early spring surprise – will track down a copy!
    Looks like it’s been a happily productive winter for you, Walt, and you’ve a busy season or two ahead. It’s good to get a little extra spring in the step!

  8. Morning. Congrats on the publication of your latest book. Will fishing be on your agenda in Belize?

    • Thanks Neil. No, fishing’s not on the agenda for this one. Rather, birding & jungle exploration of the Mayan ruins, caves & forest. Hopefully, will report here on activities.

  9. Bob Stanton says:

    Hey brother! Glad to see the new tome is available! Thought of you a bunch today as the girl and I took a day trip to Sinnemahoning SP and surrounding environs, contemplating the various watersheds that constitute the area and daydreaming of some springtime fly fishing fun. LOTS of elk in the Driftwood/Benezette region, including a big bull, antlers still intact trotting across a field almost up to St. Mary’s.

    • Sounds like a good swing through the PA wildernism, Bob! It’s surprising to me that the antlers are still intact for some of those guys. I know I was kind of shocked to recently find an image of an antlered whitetail on my trail cam. Figured those horns would have dropped in early winter. There’s always something interesting to discover. Looking forward to maybe getting together on the stream this coming season!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.