Meeting the River Trout

The break in December weather was like a holiday gift from the gods. The air temp rose to 53 degrees F., the river temp to 44. Although the sun hid behind the deep gray clouds, I stood in the northern PA water, reasonably warm and comfortable, casting with an old reliable bamboo while listening to the cornstalks rattle in the breeze along the riverbank.

Two months ago, I could find no trout here in this headwater but now the German browns were clearly present and determined to inspect the drifting artificial egg. These fish were brightly colored, hefty and, most likely, planted in a late-year stocking effort. My only challenge was to get immersed in the moments as thoroughly as possible– while staying dry and while the feeding frenzy lasted.

What an active hour-long session it was! Good luck and timing had brought me to one of the season’s best workouts. Captured browns were numerous and averaged about 15-inches in length, each one quickly returned to its domain. A gift that afternoon– from the river, from whomever lent assistance to their placement in the pools and riffles. So, a tip of the hat, a sweep of the rod, to the water, cornstalk fields and looming hills. It pays to keep an eye out on our ever-changing lands and waters. A surprise is always near. The peace and quiet can be wonderful while it lasts.

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Meeting the River Trout

  1. Brent says:

    I assume that’s the Upper Allegheny, upstream of Coudersport? We certainly had an unseasonably warm start to the weekend here, including lots of rain and thunderstorms. Now it’s quite chilly but with sun for the foreseeable future.

  2. plaidcamper says:

    The rustling of the cornstalks would have me twitchy, but you’re made of sterner stuff!
    Glad you made your meeting, and that it was productive! A brief reprieve before winter takes hold…
    Thanks, Walt, and I hope the season continues to be cooperative for you!

    • Thanks, Adam. I know what you mean about those corn stalks. There’s an eerie quality to them at this time of year, as if their voice is saying, “Hey you, out there, you might better pay attention.”

  3. Anonymous says:

    Some great late season action and results! Nicely done! Depends on how you look at it but you may be able to do this right through Winter if the temps remain elevated. Take care RTR and Happy Holidays! UB

  4. sporkworld says:

    Such a joyful and yet calm piece. I, too, enjoyed that break from December’s cold — but did so without getting wet. Thank you for this one.

  5. Mark Kautz says:

    Nice day, nice fish. Makes you feel good when it’s not blasting cold in December. Mark

    >

  6. Do the authorities impose a limit as to the number of fish you are allowed to catch?

    • Under the regulations posted on this water through the year, there is no limit on the number caught BUT one must use an artificial lure (no live bait) and ALL fish must be returned alive to the water. There is a kill limit imposed during the months of June to September (I think maybe it’s 5/day) but I release fish year around on this particular river.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Always enjoy your stories and pictures related to fly fishing in north-central Pennsylvania. I have spent many memorable days on streams in that area for over 50 years. Your latest post looks to be the delayed harvest on the upper Allegheny, a delightful small stream to fish.
    Best to you,
    Larry

    • Right you are, Larry. Glad to hear of your many years of fishing the wonderful streams of this region. Thank you for the comments. Are you living in the upstate area? I’ve been inspired by these streams for so long that I had to write & publish a handful of books about their influence on myself & other passionate anglers.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Those are some beautiful fish. Glad you got out.

  9. loydtruss says:

    Walt
    Falling behind on my comments, busy holiday season—-the fishing gods were with you today; beautiful browns! I remember those rare times I was able to beat the odds on the Sipsey. Hope you and your family have a great Christmas–thanks for sharing

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.