23 Responses to Against the Current

  1. Brent says:

    Some great pictures and remarks here, as usual. I think we all need the reset that comes with a nice holiday and some time away from the grind. See you in a few days!

  2. 1world2feet says:

    Beautiful fishing stream!

  3. plaidcamper says:

    Keep on wading against the current Walt! Dissenting voices (or voices of reason) have a hard enough time being heard, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t worth casting a peace stone or three, see if the ripples cancel out at least some of the tidal wave of madness…who knows?
    Love the winter feel of the woods in your photographs, worth numbing your fingers for. And I hope the bears are too hard to find, or the powder is damp. Or something.
    Enjoy your thanksgiving!

    • I’ll keep on wading, Plaid, ’cause it’s too late to stop now. Will keep on complaining, bitching, praising, laughing it off, while casting a stone wherever possible. Yeah the winter’s creeping in slowly now, a bit of snow today, maybe enough to put those bears into safe hibernation. Anyway, glad you like that winter woods feeling, and I know you get plenty of that out your way. Thanks, and have a wonderful week!

  4. Bob Stanton says:

    Ah yeah, the next couple of weeks are a special time in Pennsyltucky – I don’t dare set foot in the woods without some blaze orange on. Time to tend to some indoor matters, I suppose. Have a great holiday in the old Confederacy. Any fishing on the docket?

    • Fishing in the old Confederacy? Nah, it never crossed my mind. Much. I just assumed I would. And will, if the gods allow. I’ll get back to you on that, Bob. Have some great family time, yourself, and keep your head low if you go outside.

  5. loydtruss says:

    Walt
    Amazing how us older guys brave the elements to get to fish a gorgeous stream like that. I notice you were fishing the superfine Orvis, what length/weight were you using? Thanks for sharing

    • Bill,
      I guess us older guys have really learned to love the possibilities, not to mention the fact that we feel the pressure of limited time ahead. Yeah I fished my little 7′ Orvis 4-weight, a 4 piece travel rod in the Superfine model. It’s quite enjoyable on smaller streams. Have a great holiday!

  6. I should have waited a few days to read this as I still have a couple of days of work to go before the holiday. Perfect reading to get in the right frame of mind Walt. I guess I’ll just have to read it again on Thursday. I share your sentiments. Have a joyous Thanksgiving Walt!

    Oh, by the way…I just ordered Beautiful Like a Mayfly.

  7. Gramps Mel says:

    Thanks for sharing your reflections on current times and how you manage to not only reflect, but, look ahead with optimism. I suppose that comes with those of our age and experience. Bless you and your family and please enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday time.

  8. You’re welcome, Mel. We try. Thanks very much for all. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  9. Ken G says:

    You can tell me I’m imagining things if you want Walt, but I notice an improvement in the photo’s over these few years. Can’t put my finger on it exactly, just something about them that look better, but better is not quite the word I want. The more you do anything the better you get and training an eye is no different than anything else.

    And of course, I always enjoy the words.

    • Nice to hear it, Ken. I hope you’re right about the pics, although I’ve never gotten serious about taking pictures. What I do take more seriously is the attempt to have my photos complement the text, so if I’m making strides there I’m pleased. As you say, practice makes it better, and I like to think that the eye is better trained and some improvements come. I like the strides your own photography has taken; the specificity is really strong. Thanks much, and have a great holiday.

  10. Doug says:

    I love it all Walt. And Thank you bro. Thank you.

  11. Les Kish says:

    Walt, I can relate to your earlier comment about us “older guys” and feeling the pressure of limited time ahead. So go ahead, have that extra piece of pie. It builds stamina and makes us fish better. Honest. Happy Thanksgiving.

  12. Thanks Les, I’m gonna do it, that extra slab of pecan pie. Could’ve used it this morning, but it will kick in for tomorrow on the trail. Hope you’re feeling it, too. Happy Montana Thanksgiving!

  13. Ross says:

    Walt, enjoyed your post. Great pictures, beauties those trout. Hope you had a good Thanksgiving, enjoy your trip.

Leave a Reply

