18 Responses to Beautiful Like…

  1. Brent says:

    This is a nice little post that should serve to remind readers of the perspectives on beauty and the natural world offered by RTR (not to mention the baseball reference!). I, for one, always look forward to that email notifying me of a new post, and I’m eager to see the new book when we come up to visit!

    • Thanks Brent! Those variant perspectives, that I try to present with a certain focus in mind, are important to me and I hope that other readers will note them, as well. Looking forward to your visit, and the book is, too!

  2. plaidcamper says:

    Beautiful like getting the notification there is a new Rivertop post. Hmm, I’ll stop there, I think poetry is your department.
    The second photo is quite wonderful, very colourful. I have to confess, until my Dolly Vardon mystery earlier this year, I’d never given much thought to how remarkable a fish can look, and your posts always reinforce that.
    Can you imagine the Blue Jays fever up here? Whatever next, a Canadian team for the Stanley Cup? I can dream…
    Thanks, as always, an entertaining and thought-provoking post, love reading them.
    I’d best check out that book you mentioned.

    • Beautiful like another thoughtful comment from the PlaidCamper! Dolly Varden, Brook trout, cutthroat, golden… all the species are colorful in their own way, especially in the areas where they are native; all of them are worthy of celebration, so we welcome you to the fold, Plaid.
      I can’t imagine the Jays fever up in Canada but, if it’s anything like their small following down in the states, it really must be something. I know a few guys who are really fired up, and want to see a repeat of the ’92/’93 series!
      Anyway, you’re welcome, as always, and thanks so much for your support!

  3. Beautiful like a man who actually speaks beautiful words that make sense to an outdoors man.

    • Thank you, Howard. I’ve never been called beautiful before, but if I can make sense of the beauty in the world and put it here every now and then for us, that makes my day, friend.

  4. Pete says:

    Beautiful sums it all up Walt.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Fantastic Walt. In so many ways, this year seems like a Beautiful year. Between now and the New Year, I hope to be, Bleeding the Rocky River. Peace to you bro, and Cheers to the new book.

  6. Glad you’re feeling it at the peak, Doug, and hope it extends through your work on “Bleeding…” Looking forward to the read, and best wishes, here to there!

  7. leigh says:

    Walt,

    This is great news – where can I purchase a signed copy?

    • Hi Leigh,
      Send your mailing address to my email, franklinl3@yahoo.com and I’ll gladly send you a copy gratis! What happened was that my publisher included a photo of me fishing in the Willow and put it on the back cover of this book. It was a photo that YOU took and you didn’t get acknowledged for it because the whole book came out, as is, before I knew it was being used. Maybe we can rectify this in the future (hopefully) where you receive printed acknowledgement. Meanwhile, I’m in debt to you for that and more than pleased to ship you a contributor’s copy!

  8. Alan Petrucci says:

    Congrats Walt. 400 posts without any ads I think you and I are the only ones not making a fortune.
    Good luck with your book.

    • Thank you Alan. Sounds like you and I may be among the last of the old-timers still going strong without the use of ads (and making no money, either). That’s okay with me. We’re doing Something right.

  9. loydtruss says:

    Walt
    What an uplifting post reminding us all why we love fly fishing so much. The mayfly is worthy of a frame; congrats on your 400th post. Thanks for sharing

  10. 24-6.org says:

    Walt,
    Congratulations on the new book, Beautiful Like a Mayfly, and your dedicated journaling – 400 posts! And if beauty is that fleeting then it must be all the more extraordinary in your hand.
    Steve

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.