Hidden Springs #2

the brook is born between two stones

the brook is born between two stones

murmurs downhill under snow,
murmurs downhill under snow,

a voice of woods and water

a voice of woods and water

stepping awkwardly,

stepping awkwardly,

gathering volume through

gathering volume through

ravines with rock and log--

ravines with rock and log–

the river and the sea are calling

the river and the sea are calling

but the brook hears its own flow

but the brook hears its own flow

one drop at a time

one drop at a time

in servitude to gravity

in servitude to gravity

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hidden Springs #2

  1. Les Kish says:

    Hi Walt…..cool shots…. no pun intended. Looks like its time to sharpen up your ice auger. The deer? Even they’re looking for easier going and an easy meal.

  2. Hey Les, the deer are wondering what’s up with all the stressful weather, but I kind of like it, at least for now. This morning, saw a few guys out on the ice with augurs for the first time. I’ve got one of those tools but the problem, for me, is that the water doesn’t move!

    • Bob Stanton says:

      Great photos, Walt . They make me want to strap on the snow shoes and go for a stroll…especially after Christmas shopping all day!

  3. Thanks Bob! Christmas shopping? Oh yeah. Still on the radar screen for me. I’m gettin’ there… Where’s my snowshoes….

  4. I’ll stop complaining about the 40-degree weather now!

  5. Enjoy it, Jim; it could be a whole lot different!

  6. Alan says:

    Well said.
    Love those deer.

  7. Thanks Alan. Those deer don’t look too happy, from my perspective. Snow and hunters everywhere.

  8. marymaryone says:

    Awesome pictures and poetic thoughts.

  9. Thanks Mary, and happy holidays to you!

Leave a Reply

