Hidden Springs

the heart pumps

the heart pumps

blood throughout the body,
blood throughout the body,

the stream's source

the stream’s source

pushes water to the bay--

pushes water to the bay–

the moon's lamp ushers

the moon’s lamp ushers

in the morning--

in the morning–

heart beats

heart beats

the geometry of water,

the geometry of water,

a river rhythm

a river rhythm

free and undefined

free and undefined

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hidden Springs

  1. Pete says:

    Big fan of the site. I’ve been browsing for a few months. Love the photo journal and the poetry that goes along with it.

  2. Les Kish says:

    Walt…I like the top black and white image…are they aspen? I remember running into a a cluster in the northern hills of New Jersey back when I was a kid.

    • Les, Technically those trees are not an aspen, as you have in MT, but they’re close. They’re poplar, as I call them, or “popple” as some others say, and they’re located in a cluster right behind my house.

  3. Pete, Thank you much for reading and for commenting. Hope that you continue, and enjoy.

    • Bob Stanton says:

      Walt, methinks your photography is taking on new dimensions. I really like the last one, a glowing orb of color against a tangled background of gray ( or is it grey?). Nice!

  4. Thanks Bob, I’m definitely enjoying it more these days and messing around with some new possibilities. Yeah, I like the way the apple kind of bobs its way out of the realm of grays/greys, like something just popping into awareness.

  5. Beautiful. For some reason, the photos and the poetry made me think of Willie Nelson’s version of “Moonlight in Vermont.”

  6. I appreciate your sharing of that association, Jim. It tells me that something’s working here. I don’t know Willie’s version of the song but, in my own perverse way, you make me think of Capt. Beefheart’s wonderful version on Trout Mask Replica. Crazy genius.

  7. Alan says:

    Nice. The birch so barren, a true sign of the change that is here.

  8. It’s an “extra log on the fire” sort of change. Thanks Alan.

Leave a Reply

