The Cedar Run Experience, Part 6

Lately my Cedar Run experiences have been tied to events occurring at nearby Slate Run, Pennsylvania. They won’t always be so linked. Next spring I hope to make my Cedar Run visits more solidly focused on that beautiful stream.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my previous visit in September, (The Cedar Run Experience, Part 5), Ted Piotrowski and I began a project for the Slate Run Sportsmen (SRS), producing a fly-fisherman’s map of Slate Run utilizing GPS coordinates. Yesterday we finished that aspect of the project in time to provide an update for the SRS at its annual Board meeting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe day began near Cedar Run when I saw a raven lift away from the roadside. An adult bald eagle perched nearby, obviously a target of the raven’s interest. I stopped the vehicle and turned off the motor, hoping to get a photograph, but the eagle took off immediately and flew downstream along Pine Creek.

In the early afternoon, following my work at Slate, I returned to Cedar Run and drove upstream for an hour of fly-fishing. The sky was somber gray; the stream was low and clear. I suited up in an attempt to cover more water in my on-going quest to re-fish the whole stream in the next season or two.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With a bead-head Prince nymph on the leader, I stumbled upstream through the alders. I turned a couple of wild trout but didn’t hold one till the end of my allotted time on stream. Arriving at a rocky pool that I decided would receive the final cast of the day, I felt a solid hook-up. The dark-toned brown had bands of color that reminded me of a sucker as it raced back and forth across the pool.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt wasn’t a major day on stream, but I got the satisfaction of adding to the map of Slate Run to be used by fishermen, then of adding one more flourish of Cedar Run, the sister stream, to the map of my interior.

Returning homeward along Pine Creek, I looked unsuccessfully for the eagle I had seen early in the morning. Given any particular day in our lives, some things seem to work for our benefit and some things don’t. Events may not lend themselves to total understanding, but if a day outdoors gives you something to reflect upon, the time spent on the land and water isn’t wasted.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Cedar Run Experience, Part 6

  1. Leigh says:

    Some beautiful fish for this time of year.

  2. Thanks Leigh. These cold mountain streams give up their trout reluctantly at this time of the year, for sure.

  3. lesterkish says:

    Nothing like trying to squeeze in one last autumn day astream. Looks like a nice piece of water too.

  4. Lester, As you know, with the weather turning sharply colder, the squeeze may last only an hour or two, with no guarantee of success, but it’s usually worth the effort.

    • Bob Stanton says:

      That is a purty piece of ‘boo in the last pic, Walt, along with some nice trout. What do you know about Reuben Barkley?

  5. Yeah, thanks Bob. I don’t know much about Barkley, though I’ve tried to investigate. Seems as though he was in the funeral home business in the NW, Oregon, I think, and built rods on the side. I don’t think he built too many, and the rod reviews seem to be a mixed bag. Some of the bamboo was really nice, and others had issues involved. I got mine in Livingston Manor, and I think it’s one of the better ones. From the “HEH” line-weight labeling era, early 60s, maybe. I like the way it casts. I gather that you must use the “living reed” too (?).

    • Bob Stanton says:

      Unfortunately no, Walt, I don’t own any ‘boo (currently). My first fly rod was a bamboo, two- tip model of unknown to me make and origin. It was given to me by my Grandfather when I first showed interest in learning to fly fish at about 11 or 12 years old. Nobody could show me how to cast though and out of frustration I gave up. My interest in fishing subsided a few years later in favor of the usual teenage pursuits, and I believe that my step father sold the rod a few years after my dad had passed away. My father-in-law has an old Heddon with the letter weight designation and a bakelite reel seat…the thing feels like a club to me. I’ve got Gierach’s “Fishing Bamboo” book, and I sometimes frequent maker’s websites and various discussion boards to learn more. Someday, maybe, I’ll get my paws on one. My other Grandfather had given me all his fishing gear before he’d passed, and just the other week I was going through the rods again and pulled out a beat up glass fly rod I’m thinking about refurbishing, then I won’t be such a graphite heretic!

      • Bob, it’s interesting to read your background on the subject. Seems to pretty much parallel my own, but I didn’t benefit from a grandpa’s hand-me-down. Never got my hands on one till 1999, when I really got the bug and went hog-wild on bamboo, reading everything about it that I could, buying it, getting heart-broken over it, etc. So much of the standard old rods is crap, but then, what isn’t, for the most part? The exceptions are just that, just wonderful– expensive, yeah, but basically no more so than a really good graphite rod.

  6. Alan says:

    Walt it’s nice to see nice flows. Rain has been scarce in some parts of the northeast.
    That’s a beautiful brown.

  7. Thank you Alan. The mountain flows are nice, comfortable to wade along, but lots of them remain lower than average for this time of year, and that presents a challenge for us die-hards.

  8. LQN says:

    Fall browns, beautiful!

  9. The changing foliage, the crisp air, and the urge to mate seem to bring out a special beauty. Thanks Long!

Leave a Reply

