Rivertop Reflection #2

the seed pod bursts

the seed pod bursts

on the wind--

on the wind–

seeds drift by

seeds drift by

the valley mother

the valley mother,

fathering sky--

fathering sky–

the unborn life

the unborn life

feeds a bird,

feeds a bird,

a nuthatch flying

a nuthatch flying

to a tree-bark realm

to a tree-bark realm

unseen by human eyes

unseen by human eyes

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rivertop Reflection #2

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just beautiful, Doc.

  2. lesterkish says:

    That is one cool looking frog.

    • Bob Stanton says:

      Those are some great photos, especially the ones of the nuthatch. How’d you get those? Telephoto, stealth, or a combination of the two?

      • Thank you, Bob. I got kind of lucky with the red-breasted nuthatch. I was working near the house when a pair of these little guys flew near, while feeding. I got the camera and approached them again, then readied the zoom. They’re cool little birds, size of a chickadee, that live among the evergreens.

    • Rrribbitt!! Thanxs, Les.

  3. Poetry and photos are wonderful, but that damn frog/toad scarred my soul.

  4. Sorry Jim. I wouldn’t call the old amphibian an evil one, but I note that even our cat steers clear of him when their paths cross!

  5. Alan says:

    Wonderful photos Walt.

  6. Alan, Coming from one whose blog photos are amazing, your words are much appreciated!

  7. Junior says:

    “Fluffiness” seems to be a common thread in several of these photos.

  8. Yes, and one fluffy subject has four paws!

Leave a Reply

