September Shuttle

Over a period of several afternoons and evenings, I’ve been shuttling between the fields near home and a trout stream just beyond the ridge. The aging farm fields near the OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA house are reverting into mostly woodland, and the trout stream changes every year, meandering through the sands and gravel banks, doing what it pleases, how it wants.

As my life reverts to a schedule shuttling between home and the work place, I also try to interweave the fields and waterways as before. I need to stay active out there and see myself as a player in the changing game of nature. I keep the tools of “lo-technology” close at hand, i.e., the walking stick, camera, fly rod, and binoculars. Any one of these tools is like a shuttle for this life.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhereas the stream had recently been a hotbed of fly-fishing activity for wild trout, thanks to a dash of cooling rains, the water level was down again tonight, and fishing was a minimal affair, though not without its pleasure. Several brook trout and a brown, small but pretty, rose to the dry fly, though I may have done better with a wet.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Roderick Haig-Brown, the renowned Northwestern fly-fisher of late, once said that there’ll be days when fishing far exceeds your expectations, and there’ll be days when fishing is a total wipe-out, but either way, the outing is always better than a stay at OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAhome. I agree, considering that the risk involved usually has a pay-off and at least some degree of pleasure, but disagree in the sense that staying home can also be rewarding– especially if your sense of home includes the territory just beyond the door.

For example, the fields of home provide a little education and a dash of fun whenever I set my expectations in line. At times, the fields and forests can provide as much OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAsatisfaction for me as the streams and rivers do. And so I say, long live the fields and streams of home. Long may the Weaver of Existence shine upon your hills and valleys, shuttling the warp and weft of your enjoyment, wherever it may be.DSCN1153DSCN1138DSCN1139DSCN1135

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to September Shuttle

  1. Junior says:

    I really like the pictures of the high summer hills and fields with goldenrod. Those pictures in particular make me wish that I was up there right now.

  2. Alan says:

    Very well said.

  3. Joseph Hord says:

    As much as I love exploring new places and seeing new sights, home never gets old to me. Thank you for the reminder of just how special home can be, if we just take the time to stop and enjoy it.

    • You’re welcome, Joseph. As you know and understand, home is where it’s at. Without it, all of our traveling and exploring would’ve mean much at all.

      ________________________________

  4. Kenov says:

    Lovely. You’re fortunate to have such home water.

  5. What a pleasant place to call home!

Leave a Reply

