How to Fish a Rivertop Pool

1– Park your vehicle at the pull-off and prepare to walk upstream.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2– Slow your breathing and expect the unexpected.

3– Watch the old world settling on water like a leaf that floats away.

4– Be astonished. There’s a beaver on the bank ahead. It stands in the evening light and reaches for a branch above. Its silhouette becomes a bear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA5– Attend to the hatches. When a big brown snubs your tan caddis, it’s because the dark flies hold his eye.

6– Experiment and try something new (I’d never tried to cast tandem dries before, but five of the next six trout slammed the dark fly and ignored the tan).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA7– Brooks and browns and rainbows rise in the pool. Play them in. Release them gently.

8– Pause to absorb the late-day sun. It’s a grand-slam hour when springtime turns to summer.

9– Speak of it, if you dare….
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to Fish a Rivertop Pool

  1. Leigh says:

    Sounds like a tried and true formula. Let me know if you want ot meet in NW PA for some stream fishing.

  2. Joseph Hord says:

    That’s great advice, especially slowing down and taking it all in. I’ve been guilty of rushing things when I’m fishing, but it never works out as well for me as when I slow down and take time to absorb what’s going on around me.

  3. As you said with #9, it is nice to be able to speak of our favorite spots and exciting catches, but sometimes it is best not to be too specific.

Leave a Reply

