Scottish Ramble #6

In our previous outing of the series, Scottish Ramble #5, daughter Alyssa visited the “Golden Fringe” along Scotland’s eastern coast. More recently she’s traveled to the southeast out of Glasgow and sent some photos from “Edinburgh and Beyond.” Her route took in the River Tweed and then the ancient settlement of Melrose. Ah, the Tweed! Ye anglers might’ve heard of it– Atlantic salmon, brown trout, grayling. The Tweed produces more fly-caught salmon than any other river in Great Britain. Alyssa, sign me up for a beat, would you? If the river accommodates me, maybe I’ll start playing the Lottery and find a way to pay for it!

2. Scott's view

River Tweed. One hundred miles of world-class Atlantic salmon water. Here, a view enjoyed by the romantic novelist Sir Walter Scott, of Edinburgh.

3. Scott's view

Scott’s view, a second perspective. Near River Tweed.

Melrose Abbey23412_10151334797476935_922562773_n

Looking up at the renowned Melrose Abbey. Melrose is an ancient settlement along the lower Tweed.

gargoyle313700_10151334799441935_1674310707_n

Gargoyle. Melrose Abbey. Not sure, exactly, what it represents.

old bridge600269_10151334805771935_833297064_n

Bridge constructed in the early 1600s on the Tweed. Architects knew what they were doing here. Note the smaller spans to accommodate crossing during floods.

ruined castle64181_10151336539361935_1278361800_n

Approach to a ruined castle. Alyssa enjoyed exploring this, and thought it would be cool to live in the newer accommodations here.

fly580520_10151336545576935_2133300707_n

Again, not sure exactly what this item in Edinburgh’s National Museum represents, but I’m thankful that our trout streams don’t have a heavy hatch of it. [This Midsummer Chronophage is a time-piece, an incredible blend of art and science. Check out Alyssa’s link to the piece in the Nat’l Museum. See comments…]

sunset544355_10151336548911935_2024013387_n

Edinburgh, the cosmopolitan capital of Scotland, with the sun gone down.

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Scottish Ramble #6

  1. I have to think that my ancestors were probably forced out of Scotland. I can’t believe they left so much beauty (and good fishing) willingly.

    • Jim, I don’t know much about Scottish history at this point, but I imagine the entire region underwent some brutal economic times that pushed their hand. Around my location, quite a few Irish people arrived because of famine some 200 years ago. Today, when I read some of the great romantic poets of Great Britain, I realize, though, there really were some wonderful times to be had in places like Scotland and the Lake Country.

      ________________________________

  2. Antonio says:

    Mr. Franklin, I have really been enjoying you pics of Scotland. I was only able to get out and fish here in NM once this winter and it was pretty good. The catching was a little slow but getting out into the solitude of a New Mexico mountain during winter was absolutely worth it! I’d like to share a few pics with you if you dont mind.
    Antonio

  3. Antonio,
    Always enjoy hearing from you, and glad you got out into the wilds of NM this winter. Hey, I’d love to see those pictures. Do you still have my email address?

    • Antonio says:

      Mr. Franklin , I guess I deleted your email address, I apologize. Send out tip me again and I would love to share pics with you. I should be going on another outing this week as well.
      Antonio

  4. A Franklin says:

    Hey dad, i knew you would like the http://www.nms.ac.uk/about_us/about_us/press_office/press_releases/2012/time-eater_at_museum.aspxTweed 🙂 also, the bug clock is very interesting, here’s the link:

  5. Kenov says:

    Again, those are great pictures. I’m sad to say, however, that I have only caught brown trout in the Tweed. I’ll correct that someday, though.

  6. Rob Dares says:

    I spent five weeks in Scotland many years ago. It has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. The highlands are magnificent and the outdoors and wildness of it all, more than one realizes when they think of Scotland. A beautiful place. My mothers family was born there, by the name Lamond in Dunfermline. Quite a ways from the Highlands.

  7. Rob,
    Thanks for sharing your recollection and assessment of beautiful Scotland. I’d love to see it myself some day. I’ve traveled through much of Europe but, sadly, I haven’t yet had a first hand experience of this historically and environmentally significant land.

    • Rob Dares says:

      I am hoping to make it back to Scotland before I die. It is such a place of history and a culture that is unforgettable. If you ever get the opportunity, make the trip, you will enjoy it.

      • Thanks for the inspiration. I know from my studies of the land, and from my daughter’s first-hand accounts, that I’d enjoy the visit. If I get the chance, I’ll definitely go.

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

