Scottish Ramble #5

In Scottish Ramble #4, daughter Alyssa visited Dunnottar Castle and environs near StonehFile:Fife in Scotland.svgaven. More recently she made another visit to the eastern coast, this time to the former “Kingdom of Fife.” Her ramble on the Fife Coastal Path near the grey seal waters of the Firth of Forth (you gotta love these names!) reflects “The Golden Fringe.” King James VI of Scotland described Fife as a “beggar’s mantle fringed wi gowd,” around the turn of the 17th century. His “golden fringe” referred to the Scottish coast with its rock and surf and fishing ports. [All photos by A. F.]

Here the city of St. Andrews and the villages of Crail and Anstruther retain their fishing and tourism industries and populate the Golden Fringe.

#46

I’m not sure what to make of this magnificent tower at St. Andrews. A cathedral can be like a pristine mountain waterfall– a structure beyond words, and begging silence.#94

Ah, the Scottish Fisheries Museum. A place that beckons an old highland rambler.

#79

This could be an isle in the Firth. A place with the promise of grey seals and gannets.

#72

Stone steps lead down to the edge. Alyssa stands at the warm rock. Eyes roam toward the east.

#78

All the rivertops of the northern hemisphere flow down to a place like this, and roll away, and wash back on the surf.

#80

At the village of Crail, chartered in 1178. A town of twisting, narrow streets. And world-class Fish & Chips.

#75

As the earth turns from the sun , the sea turns from the rocks.

#103

The Golden Fringe….

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Scottish Ramble #5

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great writing as usual, Doc! Thanks for it!

  2. George says:

    Gator, I’m not sure my last comment made it through, but I love your writing about your rambles, and by extension, those of your daughters. Last I saw her, she was in diapers! Thanks for the words, written so well!

  3. Thank you, buddy. Always love to hear from the great Doc! Yeah, I won’t remind Alyssa she was once in baby rags. Actually it may keep her humble, coming to think of it…

  4. What a wonderful place to ramble. I’d love to see the fishing museum. Wonder if my ancestors knew any secrets they failed to pass along!

    • Jim, I’d love to be able to check out the contents of the museum as well. I have visions of Atlantic salmon and brown trout leaping from the past, as well as maritime dreams.

      ________________________________

  5. trutta99 says:

    Ah: Anstruther of the Firth of Forth! I have traced my own ancestry back to one Captain David Ffouler, who operated merchant ships out of there in the 1700’s! Keep up the great writing.

    • Thank you my friend. To know that you have traced your family line back to this location strengthens my own connection to the place, even though I’ve yet to visit!

      ________________________________

  6. Puget Keith says:

    I love the photos. Scotland seems so far away. Great story too.

Leave a Reply

