Desert Willow/ Mountain View

1. A Milestone

With post #100, Rivertop Rambles reaches a milestone of sorts. Looking back at more than nine months of blogging so far, I can say that it’s been fun and I look forward to the next 100 posts (knock on bamboo, knock on firewood!).

I’ve got plenty to learn, of course, but I think the literary/communicative aspect of the site is working well, and I’m hoping to improve the visual aspect of it by eventually upgrading from my trusty (idiot-proof, point-and-shoot, drop-it-in-the-river-and-by-god-it-still-works) camera!

A comment on the comments: Keep them coming, loyal reader and first-timer both! When you’re silent I become a little cranky and suspicious that the outdoor blogosphere is being sponged up by the Facebook gods with whom I have no dealings. Sure, it’s a huge competitive realm out there, but if I’m beaming through the social galaxies and getting no response at all, I start thinking that my world is but a grain of sand (which it is, poetically speaking). Then, instead of shutting my mouth, I tend to holler even louder. Lots of readers do occasionally comment on the posts, and for that I’m grateful and will always make reply. The comments, pro or con or inbetween, help to keep the rambler fishing and afloat.

2. Comments on these photos: Here I look back a short distance, then move forward…

Desert willow: Seeing its picture on the camera I return to a backyard in Alamogordo, New Mexico, a place to commune with family and black-chinned hummingbirds and Gambel’s quail, a place to kick back with a beer and the smell of desert herbs.

Parry harebell: Finding the picture of this mountain and subalpine bellflower, I return to a moist meadow on the headwaters of the Pecos north of Santa Fe. Perhaps I’m pausing on my quest for cutthroat trout to investigate the violet petals.

Fish on the wall: This photo is from Santa Fe, from an intersection of experiences in the mountains and the city.

Jacks Creek and Rio Grande cutt: What more can I say?

Wild brown: One of many from the Pecos.

Mountain view: Looking east from Alamogordo. Beyond the mountain lies the future.

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Desert Willow/ Mountain View

  1. Congratulations, Walt, on your 100th post!

  2. Howard Kogan says:

    Congrats on # 100, I really enjoy your blog though I don’t fish.

  3. Thanks Abby. Great to hear from someone who’s walked by a lot of mileposts on her own two feet!

  4. Leigh says:

    Congrats on 100 – Look forward to 1,000!

  5. Keith on Puget Sound says:

    This may be a rather unusual thing to say but when I first discovered your blog a week or two ago I was relieved that you were still alive. See, a year ago, in Seattle, I picked up and read a copy of your “Topographies” and yesterday just finished “Letters from Susquehannock”. I greatly enjoyed these two books but despite the availability of Google I was unable to determine if you were still writing. I understand from your comments about comments that it is easy to wonder if you are connecting with the wider world or it’s just being lost in the cosmos. But for me I am glad you are here and hope you will continue on.

  6. Keith,
    Thank you! I’m blown away by your response and very glad that you picked up the beam from Rambles. It seems incredible to me that you found a copy of “Topographies” in Seattle (and “Letters” too?). To find them and enjoy the little books restores my faith in the small press world as it was before the age of Internet. “Topographies” is one of the rarest of my chapbooks, only 100 copies ever printed, and “Letters from Susquehannock” was redone as Part 1 of the 3 part book called “A Rivertop Journal” (2005).
    You sound like a writer. I’m alive and well, and look forward to hearing more about yourself.
    Walt

  7. Anonymous says:

    Walt, great photos, keep them coming. Later.
    Jed

  8. Thanks Jed, looking forward to some new photos from Yellowstone!

Leave a Reply

