No Tale Untold

 Winter Solstice. At the darkest hour of the year, the light of day hesitates in its free-fall and positions itself for a slow return. Alyssa and Aaron cut a Christmas tree out back. A spruce tree instead of a native pine. The spruce grow rampant there. The deer won’t eat its needles though they’ll clip my struggling pines when hungry. Despite the wildcat ways of spruce, Alyssa remembered to say aloud the “Thanks” I taught our kids when they were very young– thank you to a spruce tree for the beauty that it brought to our acres, for the beauty it would lend as a decorated being.

So some wise ass had to “trim” the tree as it waited on the porch. Who was it? Couldn’t have been my son, Brent, who wasn’t home yet for Christmas. It was probably some pagan frog. Dreaming in the muds of Paradise somewhere. Of fishes caught and fishes lost and fish that come to haunt you in the end… Of course.

Happy trails throughout the holidays, with health and peace for the new year!

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Tale Untold

  1. Oh, those evil Pagan frogs! 🙂 Happy Solstice to you. Have a great holiday season. 🙂

  2. Enjoy the wonder of this night, but if a frog sings head for cover!

  3. Erin Block says:

    A merry holiday season to you and yours. So glad I came across your writings here!

  4. Thank you, Erin; I’m honored. Best wishes to you and yours for a stellar holiday!

Leave a Reply

