Headwaters Cycle (3): Position

This site is not a fly-fishing blog, per se. Rambles is about whatever it takes to limit time in front of a computer screen and with the humdrum social setting, and to maximize enjoyment with the wild. It’s about the ways we can be with wild nature, physically or in spirit. (Say the word “spirit” and I think of music, think of Spirit, one of the excellent underappreciated rock bands of the early ’70s). “Nature’s Way.” This site is not one of those “Me & Joe & the Big Ones” places– there’s enough of that in the ‘Sphere– but it does have fly-fishing in it. To cast a fly is a wonderful way to deal closely with nature, but in coming days I’ll also reflect on winter hikes and bird walks through the rivertop area, in addition to getting on the local streams as weather permits.

In this last installment of the Headwaters Cycle I’ll introduce some far rivertop country I’ve explored over the last couple of years, and if you’re interested in such locales, let me know and I’ll be happy to share experiences from them in greater detail. The Rio Grande cutthroat trout is from my visit to New Mexico’s Sangre de Christo range. The rare greenback cutthroat is from Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado, and the westslope cutthroat is from the Bitterroot River in Montana. 

The upper Genesee River country, my homewater for the past quarter-century, will get more attention. I’ll hopefully revisit a spring creek for a bit of winter fishing in upstate New York, and certainly I’ll be shooting for another steelhead season starting in March. I’ll share some thoughts and photos from recent trips to the Rockies from New Mexico north to Montana, places that have a connection in the twisted corridors of my graying head. We’ll ramble there, as well.

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

