From Under the Shroud

Throughout much of this harshest winter in decades, the Conhocton River in New York

even the DEC spelled it wrong

even the DEC spelled it wrong

has lain beneath a shroud of ice and snow. It’s been so cold that even Lake Superior is basically frozen over at this point. Each day en route to work I cross over the Conhocton River and get a glimpse of water that I haven’t fished in a long while. In fact, I’m starting to imagine ways to hurry the river’s transition into spring.

A little background might be helpful here. For many years I put off fishing the Conhocton, which flows southeasterly out of Livingston County until it joins the Tioga to form the wide Chemung River in Corning, New York. I put off fishing the Conhocton because I live a little closer to the northward-flowing Genesee River and generally prefer its somewhat wilder habitat. The Conhocton River always seemed a little less remote, and so I gave it less of a chance to show its full potential as a fly-fishing destination.

a friend

a friend

Although the river seemed to parallel the interstates too closely for comfort and my ability to mute the irritating traffic sounds, I’d been listening to persistent rumors of the good fishing to be had. With that, I finally surrendered to the lure of exploration and discovered, once again, you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, or a river by the company it keeps.

Fishing the Conhocton for a year, from headwaters to the trout pools near Bath, I found that the river may not rank “among the best of them” (as I had read), but it was well worth my efforts to explore. There were brook trout in the rivertops (above the village of Atlanta), and browns, both wild and stocked, from Atlanta down to Bath.

Although the river is most commonly known as the Cohocton, the technically correctDSCN3570 name is Conhocton. Cohocton is the name of a village along the river banks. “Conhocton” is derived from a Native American word translating into “log on the water.” Log has been interpreted to mean “tree,” as in the wooded swamps near Atlanta, or “canoe,” referring to the history of the river as a travel route.

Perhaps the best Conhocton stretches for the fly or spin angler can be found on the special regulations water. There are two long stretches where the season remains open all year, where the trout kill must be limited, and where artificial lures only can be used. The lower stretch runs from Kanona to the VA Hospital in Bath; and the upper stretch runs from the mouth of Neil Creek down to the village of Avoca. Anyone interested in trying these waters should refer to the NYS fishing regulations for more specifics.

DSCN3577One year, after an early spring had me facing high and difficult stream conditions, and when the noise of traffic almost had me quitting the Conhocton for good, the river suddenly bloomed. The season had quickly become (in the words of Chaucer) “fair as is the rose of May.” The Hendrickson hatch was off, but a rush of new caddis and mayfly hatches brought the river into vibrant focus. The new growth of leaves and grasses muted the distractions stirred by our mobile society and brought peace and quiet to the pools and riffles.

At a river hole that I call the Grey Fox Pool, in honor of a mayfly hatch and a fox that I observed chasing a woodchuck through the ferns and Dames-rocket blooms, I netted a wonderful caddis-gulping brown. The wild fish had fought hard, and ultimately had put a set in the tip of the little bamboo rod that I’d been casting.

franklin(left) ex-stocker

franklin(left) ex-stocker

With a shroud of ice and snow on the stream today, I think about the headwater springs that keep the water cool and deep enough for trout in summer. I think about the nutrients that allow the fish to grow big and healthy (browns to 24 inches and beyond are caught each year).

I think back to the pre-season float trips that I took on the Conhocton in those years when I helped out with the stocking program. I remember high, cold waters bringing on joyful and hair-raising action…

And I look forward to the coming spring. I’ll be stopping here more often when driving home from work. With the trout and mayflies leaping through dreams, it’ll be hard to pass the river by.DSCN3592DSCN3461DSCN3598

About rivertoprambles

Welcome to Rivertop Rambles. This is my blog about the headwaters country-far afield or close to home. I've been a fly-fisher, birder, and naturalist for most of my adult life. I've also written poetry and natural history books for thirty years. In Rambles I will mostly reflect on the backcountry of my Allegheny foothills in the northern tier of Pennsylvania and the southern tier of New York State. Sometimes I'll write about the wilderness in distant states, or of the wild places in the human soul. Other times I'll just reflect on the domestic life outdoors. In any case, I hope you enjoy. Let's ramble!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From Under the Shroud

  1. Spring will come again, Walt! I’m 80-percent certain of it.

  2. Jim, Florida should be feeling it by now (with robins whistling “Dixie”) or is it always summer there?? I’m hoping that the Earth keeps tilting toward the sun.

  3. Les Kish says:

    “Trout and mayflies leaping……..” just like visions of sugar plums. Responding to Jim’s comment… we can be 80% sure, 47% of the time, that there’s a 62% chance, that spring will come. Whew! We just don’t know when.

    • I think you nailed it there, Les, but I’m not sure how. You’d be good teaching the new Common Core math standards, I’ll bet. There’s 0% chance that I’ll master it, though I’m 52 to 63% certain that spring will arrive sometime before next winter. Thanks for weighing in on the seasonal stats!

  4. Junior says:

    I remember those float stocking trips fondly.

  5. That’s right, you floated at least one of those trips, didn’t you. And survived to remember them, too. The willow sweepers and low bridges were murderous at times.

  6. Alan says:

    Some of those Indian names given to streams can be tough to spell and pronounce. The deer look to be in great shape, sometimes winters can take a real toll on them.
    I think we may have broke the back of winter.

  7. Hopefully we’ve seen the harshest of the season, Alan. I just noticed that the bird calls are getting more excitable, and yeah, the deer seem to be healthier here than I would’ve thought. There have been late winters when they’ve really struggled. They could be staying fat on all my little shrubs and trees I wish they’d leave alone.

Leave a Reply

